Speak in Love Languages this Christmas

Speak in Love Languages this Christmas

My father grew up during the depression, so every Christmas he would receive a single orange. And to him, this was the whole world. He always loved receiving gifts, no matter how small. It didn’t matter if we drew him a picture or brought him back a seashell from the beach, he was happiest when we gave him gifts. Normally for Christmas we would get him a gift basket with a nice cheeseball and sausage, maybe a can of nuts, but one Christmas we decided to get him a whole bunch of presents; different items of clothing and accessories with his business logo. He was absolutely thrilled and said it was the best Christmas he ever had. 

What I didn’t know until after he had passed and I read Love Languages by Gary Chapman, was that he was a gift person. In Love Languages,Gary Chapman says that there are five ways through which people receive and give love. Words of affirmation, quality time, acts of service, physical touch, and gifts. My dad was always giving us presents and loved receiving them, so it was easy to see that his love language was gifts. He needed to have something tangible to remind himself of the love we had for him.

Do you know the love languages of the people around you? Usually, you can tell someone’s love language by how they treat you. Do they often say loving things? Do they simply like to be in your presence? Do they like to hold hands or give hugs? Do they like to take care of or do things for you? Or, are they like my dad and like to receive gifts? This holiday season, try to find out your loved ones’ love languages and connect with them on a deeper level.

Merry Christmas!


Dr. Susanne Gaddis
The Communications Doctor

Free eBookMeeting PlannersPrograms
Hire Susanne Gaddis
Book Susanne Gaddis Now!
Member - NSAMember - GSFCSP